The Indycar 500 is a legendary auto race that takes place annually on the very last vacation of May, coinciding with both the Commemoration Day holiday. The Indianapolis 500 is indeed an annual open-wheel racing car that has been part of the IndyCar Series since 1996 and therefore is as of now penalized by Indy Racing Series, LLC (dba INDYCAR).

In addition to being one of 3 most important MotoGP races and nationalities, the Indianapolis 500 has been widely regarded as among the world’s greatest legendary as well as storied racial groups.

Indycar 500

6 most popular Indycar 500 racers

Dan Wheldon

Dan Wheldon, an English racecar driver, was born on June 22, 1978 and passed away on October 16, 2011. In addition to his two Indy 500 victories, he also won the 2005 Indy Destruction Derby IndyCar Series championship. Wheldon, 33, passed away on October 16 from injury inflicted inside a crash during the 2011 IZOD IndyCar World Cup at Las Vegas Raceway.

Dario Franchitti

Scottish race car driver George Dario Marino Franchitti was born on May 19, 1973. Before moving towards the IndyCar Series, at which he managed to win the 2007 championship as well as the monsoon 2007 Indianapolis 500, he raced inside the CART series. Franchitti also has a background in NASCAR, having driven for Chip Ganassi Racing till the squad disbanded in the middle of 2008. The 2009 weather marked Franchitti’s come back towards the IndyCar Series, where he competed for Target Chip Ganassi Time trials inside the #10 Target Honda/Dallara.

After winning the tournament in 2007 as well as 2009, he won again in 2010 and again in 2011, making him the current five succeed. He won the 2010 Indianapolis 500 for the second time on May 30. Within a week of analyzing financial statements for his nonattendance in 2008, he became only the test car throughout IndyCar Series history to achieve four successive successions. The other driver was Sébastien Bourdais. He took his 3rd Indianapolis 500 victory on May 27, 2012.

Tony Kanaan

Brazilian driver of racing cars Antoine Rizkallah Kanaan Filho, known colloquially as Tony Kanaan, was born on November 31, 1974. Kanaan went on to win the Indy 500 throughout 2013. He also won this same IndyCar Series national title throughout 2004. When he was driving for Andretti Green Time trials in the inflection Dallara he won three races and the Indycar Series title.

His 3,305 laps that same year made him the very first motorist throughout IndyCar Series history to accomplish so each conceivable circle. He also set an IndyCar Series record by leading the most laps (889 total) in 13 different events. Kanaan has been the only person driving in Indy 500 history to lead at least one lap during each of his 1st six different begins, and he finally took home the checkered flag throughout 2013. There have been an amount of 15 races won by him in the IRL.

After 7-Eleven declared throughout October 2010 that they would not be Kanaan’s major sponsor throughout 2011, Andretti Autosport decided to release him. In spite of having signed forward with de Ferran Dragon Time trials, the potentially result disbanded due to a lack of financial backing. To date, Kanaan has been KV Motor sport Humankind’s #11 driver.

Juan Pablo Montoya

Concluding a Stack Juan Pablo Montoya Roldán, born on October 20, 1975, is a Colombian racing driver who has competed in there and won races throughout Formula First and CART. Presently he races inside the Sprint Premier Class for Earnhardt Ganassi Time trials throughout the No. 42 Target Chevrolet SS. Together with his wife, Connie, he has produced three offspring.

A few of the most reputable races around the globe are among his greatest moments, along with the 1998 Worldwide F3000 finals as well as the 1999 CART Championship Series. He’s the one and only motorist to ever take the checkered flag first in both the Indianapolis 500 as well as the 24 Hours of Daytona.

Only Nigel Mansell (1993 Formula 1 World Title holder) and Juan Pablo Montoya (1993 CART Title holder) have dominated their respective series in their rookie seasons. He is among only 2 active driving (the other being Jacques Villeneuve) to have won 2 elements of the Grand Slam of Motor racing (having also did win the Monaco Grand Prix and the Indianapolis 500).

Hélio Castroneves

Brazilian motorist Hélio Castroneves (conceived Hélio Castro Neves on May 10, 1975) competes inside the IndyCar Series inside the Americas. To date, Castroneves had also accumulated a total of 21 victories as well as 32 pole positions throughout IndyCar 500 contest, as till 2011, he had never finished lower than sixth inside the overall rankings in a complete season of time trials. Castroneves raced in the CART champion’s league before moving on to IndyCar, and he came third in the ranking points race.

Castroneves is the only one of nine car owners in history to win the Indianapolis 500 three times (he did so in 2001, 2002, as well as 2009). In 2003, he came in second behind teammate and compatriot Gil de Ferran. Castroneves has started from the pole five times at the Indy 500, the very first driver to do so since Scott Brayton throughout 2009 as well as 2010.

Eddie Cheever

As an American racecar driver, Edward McKay “Eddie” Cheever, Jr. (born January 10, 1958 throughout Phoenix, Arizona) competed for nearly thirty years in Formula One, super cars, CART, as well as the Indy Racing Series. From 1978 to 1989, while racing for 9 distinct teams in the World Finals for Formula One, Cheever took part throughout 143 races as well as began 132 of them.

When he managed to win the Indianapolis 500 throughout 1998 as both entrepreneur as well as motorist for the group, he founded in 1997, he became a household name inside the IRL. The squad has switched to racing performance cars.



Write A Comment